Now on its 26th run, the greatest minds representing the different medical schools in the Philippines gathered once again in the most awaited and most prestigious Inter-Medical School Quiz Contest in the country, Brainstorm.

The Robinsons Place Manila Atrium was filled with an excited crowd as they witnessed twenty teams battling face-to-face, in an exhibition of intellect and strategy to claim the most coveted title of Brainstorm 2017’s Champion. This year, an unprecedented three-way tie for the winning title at the end of the Championship Round made the competition all the more exhilarating for the contestants and the audience.

Hosted by Gio Dizon ΜΣΦ 2020 and Patrisha Quema μΣΦ 2019, the program commenced with the Philippine National Anthem and Doxology led by the UP Medicine Choir. This was followed by the opening remarks from the Chancellor of the University of the Philippines Manila, Dr. Carmencita D. Padilla μΣΦ 1981, delivered by Dr. Paul Michael R. Hernandez ΜΣΦ 2009. Gracing the event and guiding the contest was our esteemed panel of judges headed by Dr. Elizabeth S. Montemayor μΣΦ 1980 and composed of Dr. Apolinario Ericson B. Berberabe ΜΣΦ 1987, Dr. Maria Cecilia F. Lim μΣΦ 1992, Dr. Maria Sonia S. Salamat μΣΦ 1995, and Dr. Jose Leonard R. Pascual.

Brod Gio Dizon ΜΣΦ 2020 and Sis Patrisha Quema as hosts of Brainstorm 2017

The contest proper was officiated by Ted Campo ΜΣΦ 2020 and Neefa Macapado μΣΦ 2020 who served as quiz masters. The competition warmed up with the Elimination Round composed of easy, average, and difficult questions to reveal the best teams from an already exceptional roster of contestants. As contest proceeded, the Atrium was filled with the teams’ and audience’s emotions every time the quiz masters would reveal the correct answer to each of the questions.

Quizmasters Brod Ted Campo ΜΣΦ 2020 and Sis Neefa Macapado

From the twenty teams, five teams moved on to the Championship Round: Team 2 from the Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health, Team 4 from the De La Salle Health Sciences Institute – College of Medicine, Team 6 from the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila – College of Medicine, Team 19 from the University of the Philippines College of Medicine, and Team 20 from the University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine and Surgery.

The Championship Round was composed of five categories: Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Therapeutics. The five finalist teams would outsmart and outplay each other in a jeopardy-style round. The whole place was gripped by the intensity of the Championship round as the players would impress the crowd with their precise and accurate answers.

After a fierce battle, the crowd roared when the Championship Round ended with a triple tie for the championship between PLM-CM, UPCM, and UST-FMS. To break the tie, a heart-stopping and nerve-racking Clincher Round followed. After a few questions, the ranks of the three teams were determined and the champion emerged.

This year’s adviser for Brainstorm, Dr. Marvin C. Masalunga ΜΣΦ 2014 gave the final remarks to close the program. Awarding the winners and finalists were the heads of Scholarship Month 2017, Julian Santos ΜΣΦ 2017 and Justine Presinede μΣΦ 2019, and the heads of Brainstorm 2017, Jomel Lapides ΜΣΦ 2020, Jem Golbin μΣΦ 2020, and Frances Evangeline Vista μΣΦ 2020.

Congratulation to the winners of the 26th Brainstorm!

PLM-CM proclaimed Champions of Brainstorm 2017


Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila – College of Medicine

Team 6: Bryan Elvambuena, Don Macario, Jomhel Sijas


University of Santo Tomas – Faculty of Medicine and Surgery

Team 20: Sushmita Mae Rose Contreras, Henrick Ryan Fong, Federico Peralta


University of the Philippines – College of Medicine

Team 19: Linnaeus Louisse Cruz, Frinz Moey Rubio, Anthony Kimo Bello

A testament to the Mu Sigma Phi’s commitment to Scholarship, Brainstorm continues to bring the best out of the medical students and to promote camaraderie within the medical profession in the spirit of healthy competition.


Robinsons Place Manila

Topnotch Medical Board Prep


MegaPhil Marketing-CONEC


Millenium Gas Trading

VE Eusebio Skin and Laser Center


Wazzup Pilipinas