Batch 2020 Scholars: (L to R) Dr. Joie Cañal µΣΦ ‘95, Neefa Macapado µΣΦ ‘20, Alexis Dinopol µΣΦ ‘20, Jomel Lapides MΣΦ ‘20 and Jolo Ramos MΣΦ ‘20.

Upholding the pillar of Scholarship, the Mu Sigma Phi Foundation and individual alumni brothers, have granted scholarships to three deserving Mu brods from Batch 2020 this academic year.  Here are our scholars:


Jomel Garcia Lapides MΣΦ 2020
Mu Sigma Phi Foundation Bernardo V. Cruz MΣΦ 1974 Scholarship

Emerged as Top 1 in the 2011 Nursing Licensure Exam, Jomel is a student and a nurse at the same time in PGH’s Sentro Oftalmogico Jose Rizal (Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences). He graduated as salutatorian, cum laude, from his BS Nursing Class in 2011 of UP Manila. He still teaches part time in a Nursing Review Center during weekends amidst the busy schedule of a medical student. With all the responsibilities he has, Jomel still finds time to unwind by playing badminton. Currently, he is the Brother Noble of MΣΦ Batch 2020 and FY 2016-2017 Mu Blood Bank Coordinator. Amongst all of these, Jomel remains God-fearing, humble and virtuous.


Jose Luminoso Peralta Ramos MΣΦ 2020
Mu Sigma Phi Foundation Ramon Antonio S. Generoso MΣΦ 1992 Scholarship

Jolo graduated cum laude in the BS Psychology program of UP Diliman. He is a diligent student and a hardworking brother of the fraternity. A certified DoTA enthusiast, he was selected as one of the UP College of Medicine’s representative in the DoTA Tournament of APMC Palarong Medisina 2017. Aside from DoTA, he is also an avid basketball and badminton player. Jolo has a positive and high-spirited personality at all times that makes him unique.


John Ruben Camano Valeza MΣΦ 2020
Mu Sigma Phi Foundation Edmond P. Yabut MΣΦ 1990 Scholarship

Ruben is a BS Biology major in Zoology graduate, cum laude and recipient of Dr. Drina Sta. Iglesia Best Undergraduate Thesis, from UP Los Baños. Amidst the bustle of medical school, he plays with the UP College of Medicine’s Ultimate Frisbee Team known as Manila Disc in the Palarong Medisina, yearly. He previously headed the annual iHarana MU project in 2016. Ruben is one of the current Brothers Recorder of the Fraternity and serving as the External Affairs Head of the 3rd Quisumbing-Escandor Fim Festival for Health.


Two sisses were also granted scholarships, namely Allyna-Haneefa Macapado µΣΦ 2020 and Christine Alexis Dinopol µΣΦ 2020.

Congratulations to our scholars and thank you to the Mu Sigma Phi Foundation!